Why I ended my long term relationship

Jpeg

Late last year, I ended my 9 year relationship. It was one of the toughest decisions I ever had to make.

He was my best friend, however, I felt that we grew to be two different people. I now wanted different things. I wanted to explore the word and see if I could handle being on my own. I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it.

I was living in his house that time and he owned most of our stuff. I never had bills to pay. We shared groceries. He paid for our dates. He had a house he was paying for, so we could stay there when we get married. You could see that he was perfect. He knew how to take care of me and our future.

I realized that what held our relationship was the expectation that we should stay together. He was my first boyfriend. Did I regret my decision? Many nights I’ve questioned it. I cried to Ed Sheeran’s “Happier” everytime I heard it.

I realized that I had to be true to myself. Not letting go would be living a lie. It doesn’t mean that I dressed a certain way all my life that I can’t completely change my style if it doesn’t feel right. This is what I felt with our relationship.

Nevertheless, I am very thankful for all the beautiful memories we shared. He was a big part of my life and he will always have a place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

